Second Course – SOUP

I encouraged you all to try a new dish for Thanksgiving.  Well my new dish is going to be a Soup.  I love soups especially in the fall.  They warm me up, are hearty and fill me up and are usually low in calories.  But other than broth soups, I really don’t have much luck with them.  So, I’m going to look for a soup for one of my Thanksgiving courses, one that I like and can perfect.  So let the search begin.

I started on the internet of course.  Looking for something that had a fall theme and that I thought  would work well with my Thanksgiving menu.

Buttermilk Squash Soup

This Buttermilk Squash Soup caught my eye.  Now they always have the squash soup receipes around Thanksgiving, and truthfully I

haven’t found one I’m really crazy about, but once again I’m drawn to this one.  Probably because it has one of my favorite spices in it Cumin.

Carrot-Ginger Soup

This next receipe features another of my favorites, Ginger.  I love the sweet smell, and the spicy bite it can add to your receipes.  It also has curry which I love, and a tofu like crouton that is used as a garnish.

When at restaurants, French Onion Soup  is always a favorite.  I always say I’m going to try to learn how to make it at home.  Though it only seems to be made of a great broth with onions in it.  It always looks like a complicated thing to make to me.  Just fear I guess.  Well I did find this receipe for an English Onion Soup that used many different types of onions.  I will probably not try it for Thanksgiving, but I am saving it, because it is one of those soups I am determine to learn how to make.

English Onion Soup with Sage & Cheddar

 If I’m going  to be good at making a great soup, I can’t leave out another old favorite.  Broccoli Cheddar Soup. 

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

So, you’ll have to wait and see which one ends up on my Thanksgiving menu.  Plus after Thanksgiving, I will have the makings of a great stock, in my turkey carcas.  So, I will have plenty of time to try out all of the receipes.  So I guess, today is my day to start my cooking prep.

Countdown Continues

4 Days til Thanksgiving

Published in: on November 20, 2011 at 9:00 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/second-course-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Lovely post. When you have the time, do drop by my space. Would love to hear from you.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I will definitely check out your blog, and add you too my blog roll. Since you commented you get advanced notice. The Buttermilk Squash soup won – and it was delicious.


Leave a Reply

