Black Friday

Black Friday – The day after Thanksgiving where American retailers have turned what could have been a civilized and relaxing day into a crazed frenzy.  Just my opinion!   I do realize there are some people who live to stand in line, camp outside a closed store door in the cold, leave the Thanksgiving feast early to take a nap so that they can get up at the “crack of dawn” or earlier, midnite, to fight for the 3 extremely low priced items that stores have used to bait you out of  your warm home, and into their stores.  Ooooookkkkk,  I’m venting a little, partly because I work in retail, and though I’m sitting here writing now.  In a few hours, I will be serving the public to 9:00 p.m. tonite.

So enough on that.  If you are home and need something else to do.  Let stay in our festive mood.  Thanksgiving is over – 1 down 2 holidays to go.  Christmas is just a month away.  Let’s be a little more domestic.  Today is good for cleaning the house. You don’t have to cook, you have all those Thanksgiving leftovers.  Then bring out the Christmas decoration.  If not the tree the little stuff, like  . . . My Christmas coffee mug.  My Christmas Dish towels.  My Christmas Glasses.  The little things that help make the holidays special.

Another task I like to do on Black Friday is address my Christmas Cards.  Yes, Christmas Cards!  I am old school like that.  I don’t mail anything the rest of the year.  I don’t even know what a postage stamp cost today.  But I will be sending out Christmas Cards.  For me there is nothing like going to the mailbox in December, and getting a envelop that doesn’t have a clear window with your name in it.

Christmas Traditions – there are many things to do that help you count down and get ready for the holidays.  This time should be fun and festive.  Embrace it enjoy it.  Baking, Decoration your tree, Holiday Movies, Festival of Lights, Hanukkah gifts,  or Zwanza Celebrations.  Wow there is so much we will have to talk about in the next 30 days.  Lots of Post ideas.

Finally – I know this is a

Happy Hour @ 1102 Day

I don’t have a prepared cocktail for today.  I would suggest a good bottle of wine though.  But the next 5 Fridays there are some awesome holiday cocktails, that I’ve found.  So take a break and if you must go out,  head to the liquor store to stock up for your liquor cabinet.  Vodka, Rum, Brandy, Bailey’s – this list goes on.  All that cleaning and decorating – I’m going to need a cocktail. 

Classic Mojito

Enjoy your holiday weekend – Back to serious holiday blogging tomorrow! 

 

Published in: on November 25, 2011 at 9:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2011/11/25/black-friday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

