Christmas Cookies

I love cookies – would rather have them over cakes, pies or chocolate.  But I don’t like to bake.  I’ll cook “real food” all day long, but baking takes a level of patience, and a bunch of messy, sticky ingredients, that I’d rather not tackle.

But the image of Christmas cookies and the smell of someone baking in the house go hand in hand with my Christmas Fantasy.  So I decided I wanted some cookies this year.  I even orchestrated a cookie exchange at work (Partly as a way to ensure that I have lots of cookies), but that reward requires I also provide some cookies.  So, I’m baking cookies – and if you’re Baking Cookies you may as well do 2 or 3, right?  So here goes.

Well the Christmas cookie I usually bake requires no baking.  It also has an ingredient that works for me, liquor.  I often make rum balls for Christmas.  I usually make them the day after Thanksgiving, and put them in a can to ferment until close to Christmas.  Ummmm good.  So, a couple weeks ago, I did my rum balls and they are just waiting to eat.  But I realized if I’m going to give those away, I need to make another batch.

One of my favorite cookies are Mexican Wedding Cakes, which I’ve never made.  I’ve always had someone in the office who made them.  So, I decided it was time for me to learn how to make those myself.  So, I googled it!  (My new best friend  lol).  Found several receipes – will have to give that a try.

Finally, my BFF Jennifer, who does bake, gave me several receipes that are suppose to be simple and easy, and a big hit.  So today is baking day – I have all the ingredients out and ready to go.

Right off the Bat - Too Much Stuff

So I started, I made a BAR cookie.  Simple enough, a cookie crush, nuts and a candy topping.  It went fairly well.  Didn’t take too long.  I didn’t heed Jen’s one warning not to let it cool too long before you take it out the pan and cut it.  It’s a lot harder later.  I went and watched a movie, before cutting it – so I had a little issue.

If you like sweet and/or candy you will love these.  They are a dentist’s dream.  But they are tasty.  I cut them into tiny squares, and put them in a tin to share.

Next thing was fudge – another thing that I like in small doses, but I find too sweet to eat much of.  Don’t know how easy this was, the fudge set up and starts to harden way to quickly for my pace.  But I did manage to get it in the pan, for what is suppose to look like a wreath upon presentation.  We’ll see.  (Several days later – I decided that I was not taking it in wreath form, and cut it into slices to put in goodie bags for my co-workers)

Finally I made chocolate bark.  It is colorful, and very pretty.  Like the fudge, chocolate hardens, and all while I’m trying to add stuff to it, like nuts, peppermint candy canes, and pretzels.  It’s cooling for real now, so we’ll have to see how it turns out.

(Follow-up:  This turned out real good.  The White Chocolate was the best.  I will add this to my Christmas list of things to keep.)

After all this, what I realize, is I still don’t really have any cookies?!?!?!   So, I guess I have another day of baking to go.  Otherwise the office will get the old Fake & Bake.

Well, I got the ingredients for my Mexican Wedding Cakes, and put those together.  They weren’t bad,  fairly straight forward, easier than the fudge, in my opinion.  So I baked, while sampling and tweeking my Christmas Sangria.  I was up to 3:00 a.m.  But I got all the various goodies into the bags and ready to take to work.

So my final assessment, is it took me about 3 days to do all this.  My kitchen is still a wreck , with sugar and sprinkles all over the floor.  Baking takes lots of utensils.  Bowls, spoons cookie sheets  aauuuggh!  Lastly when I got through, I was almost sugared out be fore I started.  So I may have to save a few to have my own personal cookie day next week.

But they were all a big hit – and I found 2 items that I will keep and add to the Christmas Tradition – But really folks I’m done baking for another couple years.

Eat Drink and be Merry

4 Days til Christmas

12 Days til New Years

Published in: on December 21, 2011 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/christmas-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

