What I’m Reading – A Song of Ice & Fire

A Game of  Thrones

Currently I am reading A Game of Thrones.  This is my kind of book.  It’s an on-going saga.  It’s long, it’s detailed, and it has a long list of characters for me to love and hate.  I have the first 3 books that a friend lent to me.  Of course I am totally hooked now.

There is a TV show as well.  I have not yet seen the show.  Though it won’t be long.  My group of  “Thronies” (friends that have read the book and watch the series), have promised me a day to go through all 10 episodes so that I can catch up before season 2 starts.  (They wouldn’t want me to miss out on those Game of Thrones house parties)

*    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *

Well since I wrote the first part of this post, I am now halfway through book 2, A Clash of Kings.

This tale of the seven kingdoms continues, with some of our characters from book 1 gone, introductions to new characters, and a war that has the 7 kingdoms with more than one king.  I watched all of season one, except the last episode which I will watch tonite or tomorrow.  Yeah, I know what’s going to happen, but I must say HBO did a great job of putting this book to TV.  Now as a reader, I love the detail that you get from a book, but if you are just watching the show you have an excellent rendition of The Wall, Winterfell, Kings Landing, The Starks, The Lannisters and House Baratheon.

There are lots of tidbits that are missed in the TV series, and some changes,  but they don’t diminish the story.  Plus we readers get to keep some knowledge for ourselves.  But I am throughly enjoying these books.

If you like knights and castles, and intrigue, magic and dragons,  spying, back stabbing, witches and warlocks,  loves gained, and loves lost, some for good reasons and some for bad, and an all around fight for power,  you’ll love these books.

Published in: on February 9, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/what-im-reading-a-song-of-ice-fire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

