Soup’s on @ 1102

Last Week’s Soup:   Pizza Soup

My Rating:  **** 4 out of 5

Comments:  This turned out great.  I made it on Wednesday, and had it for my own Personal Super Bowl Week.  It was very tasty, and warmed up well for lunches, was good for dinner, and I made Buffalo Chicken Wing Eggrolls to go with it.  (You’ll have to keep a look out for that recipe in a future blog.)  I’m sorry I didn’t post last week.  It was saved, but I guess I didn’t schedule.  No worries, I need a break from soups,  I need to clear out my freezer and eat some of my stored concoctions up.   Enjoy, this is a keeper!

*******************************************************************

Broccoli and Bread Soup

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds broccoli spears

1 3/4 quarts chicken or vegetable stock

1 tablespoon lemon juice

salt and freshly ground black pepper

1.   Using a small, sharp knife, peel the broccoli stems, starting from the base and pulling gently up toward the flowerets:  The peel should come off easily.  Chop the broccoli into small chunks.  (I skipped the peeling part.  I cut the stems into chucks saved some for the soup and threw the rest into my vegtable stock pot)

2.   Bring the stock to a boil in a large saucepan.  Add the broccoli and simmer for about 10 minutes until soft.

3.   Puree about half of the soup and stir into the rest of the soup.  Season with salt, pepper, and lemon juice.

4.   Reheat the soup.  Toast the bread, rub with garlic, and cut into quarters.  Place 3 or 4 pieces of toast in the bottom of each soup bowl.  Ladle the soup over.  Serve at once, with Parmesan if  liked.

Published in: on February 15, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/soups-on-1102-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

