Happy Hour @ 1102

BLOOD ORANGE MARGARITA

As I wrote this, (about 3 weeks ago), I had purchased my first blood oranges.  I was in Sprouts and saw them.  I’ve seen many drinks with blood oranges lately, and they always look so pretty and  refreshing.  Well first thing, blood oranges were expensive, about $1.79 a pound, but I bought 2 anyway. Since they were so expensive, I thought, what will I do with them, and the first thing that came to mind was a drink.

So, I came home and goggled blood oranges, and 3 drinks came up over and over.   Blood Orange Martini, Blood Orange Cosmos, and Blood Orange Margarita.  Since I had a brand new bottle of tequila on the shelf, I figured Margarita’s it is.  Wow, was this drink good.  Unfortunately I knew before I mixed it, that my 2 little oranges were not going to produce enough juice for me to have my fill of this drink – but as I sit here with this buzz from the first one, it was well worth the $1.79 and I would splurge on this fruit again.

The drink recipe I finally settled on led me to a blog, ( You gotta love bloggers), “White on Rice Couple” .  You must click and read the post for this recipe.  I was so jealous that they have a blood orange tree in their own backyard, which means they can make an abundance of this cocktail.

As an extra little bonus, I’ve given you another link to a separate post from them.  When trying to find the original Blood Orange Margarita recipe I found an older post for a Blood Orange sidecar that they affectionately call Midnighte Ride.  The pictures that both post show of their oranges will make your mouth water.  OK, I’ve rambled more that I usually do on a Happy Hour Post, but I guess you know,  I LOVED THIS COCKTAIL.  Here’s the recipe from Todd & Diane.   Enjoy!

Blood Orange Margarita Recipe


The acidity of  fresh blood orange juice in this margarita is outstanding. The bright, tart flavors of blood orange makes a brilliantly colored cocktail and not to mention very refreshing too.

3 oz fresh Blood Orange Juice
2 oz Tequila (for recommendations see comments on Meyer Lemon Margarita post)
1 oz  Triple Sec
splash of agave nectar (syrup) (optional yet fantastic suggestion from Brooke-who is a kick ass bartender)

1. Rub the rim of an old fashioned glass (or whatever similar vessel you prefer) with an edge of a blood orange slice.  Swirl the rim through a small pile of kosher or sea salt to salt the rim.

2. Combine all ingredients into a cocktail shaker, add ice and shake for 15 seconds.

3. Put a few cubes of ice in your glass.  Strain the cocktail into the glass and enjoy.

I rimmed my glass with the juice of a lime.  It’s a Margarita and I was not about to waste 1 drop of juice from my blood oranges on the glass.  I also didn’t have the agave nectar.  Mine was in a Martini glass which allowed me to have 2 considering my limited quantity.

Post Note:  It’s 3 weeks later and I’m posting this.  I’ve been drinking these for the past 3 weeks.  I have bought blood oranges by the bag full.  Not as expensive as I first thought – lol – and yes I will be having them again this evening with you for Happy Hour @ 1102.  Enjoy!

Published in: on February 17, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/happy-hour-1102-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

