My Whitney Tribute

As I watch the funeral services for Whitney Houston – I decided to post my own personal Tribute to a woman I didn’t know personally, but that I feel sad about today knowing that she is gone.

Watching her services reminds me of home, It reminds me of my church where I grew up and everyone knows me.  It reminds me of friends, those still living and those like Whitney who have gone on. I listen to her friends and family talk about her life, and I smile, as I listen to stories that only those who know you well can tell, and I’m wiping my eyes and sniffling as I hear the sadness in there voices for there love one that is gone.

Her First Album

But, I grew up with Whitney’s Music, I had all her albums (yeah albums – that’s they way it started).  I’ve seen all her movies.  They are among my favorites.  Coincidentally this Christmas I watched all three, (look back at those Christmas Blogs).  The Preachers Wife – for Christmas, Waiting the Exhale – My New Year’s Eve Movie.  I bought The Bodyguard as one of my Christmas presents to myself.

So, this afternoon as I cook, make cocktails, do a little cleaning, and enjoy a rare Saturday off, I will put on those Whitney CD’s, and sing my heart out.  After dinner I will put in The Body Guard, followed by Waiting to Exhale, and then maybe even The Preachers Wife.

I will be glad, because the Whitney I knew personally, is all on CD, DVD, tape, film, and the internet. I can see and enjoy her anytime.  I look forward to her final gift to us, her public, her movie Sparkle.

So Whitney, Here’s to You.  Thank you for sharing your talent with the world.  RIP-We’ll miss you.

Published in: on February 18, 2012 at 1:42 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://semplo2lost.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/my-whitney-tribute/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

